45. Cut and donate my hair

Creating my bucket list is a never-ending task. I am always adding new things that I would like to accomplish and trying to discover which item to knock off next. I highly encourage anyone who loves living life to the fullest to have a bucket list and to start crossing off items.

Number 45 on my bucket list was to cut and donate my hair. This item did not take much planning but took a lot of time preparing.  Senior year of high school I started growing my hair out and only getting it trimmed. After my first year of college, I decided my hair was finally long enough to cut. The hardest part about number 45 was finding a hairdresser who knew how to cut hair in preparation for being donated. Once finding a hairdresser, I wanted to make an appointment as soon as possible. I enjoyed my long hair but it was getting annoying. Summer was starting and I wanted a cute short cut that would be easier to style and deal with. I finally made an appointment and patiently waited for the day.

The day of my hair appointment I was nervous, but also super excited.  As the hairdresser put my hair in a ponytail and measured it, she told me I would be donating around 11 inches. At that moment, I was no longer nervous because I knew that donating my hair would mean I was helping women who were going through chemotherapy receive wigs.

After lots of research I decided to donate my hair to Pantene Beautiful Lengths. I really liked their program and what they were doing for women with cancer.

Donating my hair was one of the best decisions I have ever made. Not only did I get a cute “bob” haircuts, but I also got to help women who are going through chemotherapy. If you have thought about donating your hair, I highly suggest doing it. Do your research and decide who you would like to donate it too,  make sure you find a hairdresser who has cut hair to be donated before, and make sure your hair reaches the donation requirements.

Next week: number 52.

Leave a Reply

