17. Rappel Down A Building

When I put number 17 on my bucket list, I assumed I would never cross it off and I was ok with this. When I received an email from my Dad with the opportunity to rappel down a building on June 25, 2011, exactly five years after my heart transplant, I jumped on it. I saw it as a sign to show everyone how far I’ve come in five years, and to prove to myself that I had the guts to do it.

Since heights are not my thing, I decided I would feel more comfortable if my brother rappelled with me. For us to be able to rappel we would have to raise $1,500 each and the money would go to Make-A-Wish of central Texas. This was a challenge in its self. I made YouTube videos that I sent out to companies, family and friends.

We made it down!

In the end we ended up reaching more than our goal and on June 25, 2011, we rappelled down the American One Center in Austin, Texas. It was the most thrilling thing I have ever done. I highly doubt I would have made it over the edge of that building if my big brother had not been by my side cheering me on. I really owe him for letting me drag him into this, but he had an amazing time (and won fastest rappel!) so I’m pretty sure we’re even. While rappelling I was freaking out and so nervous, but it was amazing reaching the bottom and seeing my family and friends cheering for me.

When creating my bucket list I wanted to have some crazy things on there and this is definitely one of them. Allowing myself to have faith and trust in the ropes to hold me as I went over the edge was so hard. I knew I was safe, but it is only human to second-guess safety. If you ever get the chance to rappel down a building, do it, you won’t regret it. A great way to find a place to do it is the Over The Edge website. Keep an eye on it and if there is a foundation you are passionate about, I highly suggest raising the money and doing it.

My brother Ryan and I

Photos by my mom & dad 

Leave a Reply

