Remember the Ten 10k.

This past Saturday I participated in my first 10k! Four friends and I did the Remember the Ten 10k in Stillwater, OK! For those of you who have never been to Stillwater, it is a pretty small town. The 10k felt like it looped over and over again; it made it super tough to keep going, but we did it. I stuck with one of my best friends (and a soon to be OSU alumni), Emily Ronck, for the whole 10k. She is an extremely fast walker. Whenever I would slow my pace, she’d keep going and I would have to push it to catch back up. The whole time Ronck and I just kept telling ourselves “We just have to finish!” Eventually, we did finish and crossing that finish line was an amazing feeling. Even though my time was beyond horrible, I am so happy that I finished. We even got medals at the end, so that was a plus! While the 10k was tough at times, it was a great “pre-race” before my half marathon this weekend.

Image

This morning I was lying in bed trying to fall back asleep and it hit me. This Sunday I’ll be participating in a half marathon. 13.1 miles. Am I crazy?! I am so excited and a little anxious, but I know it’ll be worth it. Five and a half years ago I couldn’t walk up a staircase without stopping to catch my breath…now I’m doing a half marathon. I am beyond blessed to have had such a successful transplant and to continue to stay healthy. There will always be bumps in the road for me and my health, but I know that I can get through it. I am even more blessed to have amazing parents who always support me when I participate in crazy things such as rappelling down a building and doing a half marathon. I also have a supportive older brother who has always encouraged me to keep going, even when times are tough. I am well aware that the half marathon is going to be a challenge for me, but I will finish. I will cross that finish line and give my mom a hug and be beyond thankful that I made it 13.1 miles. On Sunday, I’ll cross bucket list item 24 off my list.

‎”If you run, you are a runner. It doesn’t matter how fast or how far. It doesn’t matter if today is your first day or if you’ve been running for twenty years. There is no test to pass, no license to earn, no membership card to get. You just run.” – John Bingham
 
But those who trust in the LORD will find new strength. They will soar high on wings like eagles. They will run and not grow weary. They will walk and not faint. Isaiah 40:31 
 
Leave a Reply

